Fall 2021 Undergraduate Research Project in Data Science



Participants:

Livia Betti
Kyle Chang
Jiwon Chang
Jiaer Chen
Ziyu Chen
Ran Cheng
Veronica Chistaya
Alexander Crystal
Steven Dai 
Blaine Dillingham
Yuyang Geng
Xu Huang
Carol Jerotich
Nchome Kotelo
Ethan Leung
Junfei Liu
Runzhou Liu
Sichen Liu
Harry Liuson
Jack Mandell
Ryan Peng
Amanda Pignataro
Nolan Spears
Mengmeng Yu
Jonathan Wang
Luting Wang
Ruihan Xu
Zhengyang Zhang

 
Names (in alphabetical order), contact info and projects:


Livia Betti
lbetti@u.rochester.edu

Project: VC-dimension and neural networks 

Jiwon Chang jchang38@u.rochester.edu

Kyle Chang kchang27@u.rochester.edu

Jiaer Chen jiaer278@gmail.com

Project: (to be determined)

Project: VC-dimension and neural networks

Ziyu Chen zchen103@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Ran Cheng: rcheng9@u.rochester.edu

Project: TBA

Veronica Chistaya vchistay@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise

Alexander Crystal acrystal@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise

Steven Dai sdai4@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise

Blaine Dillingham bdilling@u.rochester.edu

Project: (to be determined)

Yuyang Geng ygeng9@u.rochester.edu

Project: VC-dimension and neural networks

Xu Huang huangxu0308@gmail.com

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise

Carol Jerotich cjerotic@u.rochester.edu

Project: Hype versus performance in the NBA

Nchome Kotelo nkotelo@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and universal algebras

Ethan Leung eleung6@u.rochester.edu

Project: Natural language processing on the social web

Junfei Liu jliu137@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Runzhou Liu 
rliu30@u.rochester.edu

Project:
Neural networks and sales models with noise
 

Sichen Liu sliu97@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Harry Liuson hliuson@u.rochester.edu

Project: Reinforcement learning

Jack Mandell jmandel5@u.rochester.edu

Project: VC dimension and Erdos configuration problems

Ryan Peng
rpeng5@u.rochester.edu

Project:
Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Amanda Pignataro
apignata@u.rochester.edu

Project:
Neural networks and sales models with noise

Nolan Spears nspears2@u.rochester.edu

Project:

Mengmeng Yu
myu26@u.rochester.edu

Project:


Jonathan Wang jwang201@u.rochester.edu

Project: Natural language processing on the social web

Luting Wang lwang97@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Ruihan Xu rxu18@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web

Zhengyang Zhang zzh103@u.rochester.edu

Project: Neural networks and sales models with noise/Natural language processing on the social web


Research Groups:

VC-dimension and Erdos problem

Jack Mandel

VC-dimension and neural networks


Livia Betti
Jiwon Chang
Yuyang Gang

Neural networks and sales models with noise

Kyle Chang
Ziyu Chen
Veronica Chistaya
Alex Crystal
Steven Dai
Xu Huang
Junfei Liu
Runzhou Liu
Ryan Peng
Amanda Pignataro


Hype versus performance in the NBA

Carol Jerotic

Neural networks and universal algebras

Nchome Kotelo

Natural language processing on the social web

Ethan Leung
Sichen Liu
Jonathan Wang
Luting Wang
Ruihan Xu
Zhengyang Zhang

Reinforcement learning

Harry Liuson

Python/Pandas/Tensorflow Learning Materials:

A full course on python YouTube course:

h
ttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKHEtdqhLK8

Python tips

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-gEQdGVXbk

Machine learning with python YouTube course:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-uOLxNrNk8

Recurrent Neural Networks:

https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/the-ultimate-guide-to-recurrent-neural-networks-in-python/